Thursday, March 13, 2008

Jacket Weather

When Shadows Move (7", Iconoclast International, 1983, US)

1. The River Sleeps
2. Markers
3. Trust
4. Must Be West
5. I Would Dream
6. A Busy Morning

Gassen formed the pioneering minimalist-electro-wave act Jacket Weather in 1982, mixing dual Casiotone keyboards, real bass and drums – with the desolate imagery of the Arizona desert. “I loved the contrast of the synths with human percussion and the sensual backdrop of the desert,” Gassen adds. “We thought the tension of my cold, distant vocals and synths with the bombastic rock rhythm section made our sound unique.

Described in their day as a cross between Joy Division and Young Marble Giants, with some Wall Of Voodoo mixed in, Jacket Weather etched their own minimalist sound. Staccato, expressionistic vocals accent the snake-like mingling of the Casiotones, while a steady dance pulse backs the eerie mixture. Equally enraptured with Euro-synth, English post-punk and Los Angeles punk-wave, Jacket Weather found inspiration from such opposites as Our Daughter’s Wedding to the Suburban Lawns for their Casiotone symphonies." -from their myspace page

Awesome hard to find post punk/minimal synth/wave!

download here:
Jacket Weather - When Shadows Move 7"


Anonymous said...

Man, this is great stuff! Truly unique. Highly recommended to everyone with an open ear. The coolness of the voice reminds me of MX-80 sound, but this here is far easier to digest. Thank you very much, and please keep on with your wonderful blog!

Anonymous said...

The link doesn't work..